MapWinGIS Ax with dBase2019: unable to open files

Hello,
I am new to GIS and very interested in embedding MyWinGIS activeX into our applications which include remote equipment management.
Dev environment: dBase2019 v3.2 release 11-2019 - Win10 pro 64 - MapWinGIS activeX v.5.2).
The activex works fine with all events and related methods as well as class libraries called by the dBase New OleAutoClient ("") method.
I carried out loading tests for shapefiles and markers for POIs (GPS coordinates of managed devices), unfortunately without success. The open file function returns an “OLE data type mismatch” message whether it is shp or png. Here is the dBase syntax used:
Image file:
cfile = getfile (".png", “Choose a marker”)*
img = new oleAutoClient (“MapWinGIS.image.1”)
img.Open (cFile, 5, true, null) // 5 = png, true = inRam, no callback
Shape file:
cShp = getFile (". shp", “Choose a shapefile”)*
sf = new oleAutoClient (“MapWinGIS.Shapefile.1”)
sf.Open (cShp, null)
I used the examples provided by the mapwindow.org online documentation and all the properties and methods are accessible (at least the existing ones because visible by inspecting them!)

• Do I have to predefine more precise parameters before opening?
  • are there any differences between v.5.2 and the online documentation (v.4.9)?
  • must the variable containing the name of the file be completed or delimited with special characters?
  • other reason, forgot something?
    I also noticed that some methods require more arguments than in the online documentation

Sorry for my newbie questions! but it’s frustrating to display and manage a map and be blocked by such a basic function!
And thanks in advance for helping me to get out of this deadlock!
Kind regards
J.

Hello @Joseph, and welcome.

I’m gonna take an initial crack at this, admitting that I may be wrong, having no knowledge of dBase2019.

It looks to me that OleAutoClient is a wrapper around OLE Automation. Here’s what I found in their documentation.