Using MapWinGIS with MS-Access VBA

Dear MapWinGIS programmers and users,
I am new to MapWinGIS (MWG). I would like to use MWG as a viewer and select tool for a nature conservation area cadastre in Microsoft Access in connection with a PostgrSQL / PostGIS database (PgDB) as a backend. So far I have managed to implement a MWG window in an Access form and read the required data from the PgDB into the MapWinGIS window. Zoom and pan tools aren’t a problem either.
For my application, however, I still only need a select tool, which reads the area ID for the selected area in MWG from the associated table so that I can continue to use it as a search parameter in Access.
Conversely, I would like a text search in the factual data to zoom in on the identified area in MWG.
Unfortunately, the MapWinGIS documentation that is available on the Internet does not appear to be up to date. I have made experiments with e.g. “cmSelection”, “cmIdentify”, “SelectBoxFinal” etc. I used the MWG Reference Manual (2007) as a guide. Unfortunately the VB documentation is apparently not optimized for VBA. When transferring code snippets into Access, many errors occur as follows (highlighted in red):

Since I’m not a professional programmer, I’m a little bit desperate.
Is there a change here to get help for my concerns? Otherwise I will have to distance myself from my project.
I would be very happy to receive answers and help.

Best regards DetlevF

Hi Detlev,

here is an example of how you can implement a rectangle-select-tool in MS Access:

'****************************************************************
'****************************************************************
Private Sub MapMain_SelectBoxFinal(ByVal Left As Long, ByVal right As Long, ByVal bottom As Long, ByVal Top As Long)
On Error GoTo Error_Handler
On Error Resume Next
'---- Variables ----
Dim varError            As DAO.Error
Dim extTemp             As MapWinGIS.Extents
Dim sfTemp              As MapWinGIS.Shapefile