Getting MapWinGIS to work in WPF

Hey guys! So I got MapWinGIS to work in WinForms, looks pretty great!

Now, I know that in WPF there is a ‘WindowsFormsHost’ and so I tried using that for hosting the MapWinGIS ActiveX control, but when I try to debug the program I get: https://imgur.com/a/39tXl0i

Notice how I run make sure to run the application in 32 bit mode, just like I successfully do in the WinForms project.

These are my references:

And the code I am running is:

public partial class MainWindow : Window
{
    public MainWindow()
    {
        InitializeComponent();

System.Windows.Forms.Integration.WindowsFormsHost host = new
        System.Windows.Forms.Integration.WindowsFormsHost();

var map = new AxMapWinGIS.AxMap();

host.Child = map;

this.grid.Children.Add(host);
    }
}

Any help or advice on this issue would be much appreciated.
Thanks!

Hello @ZeroByter, and welcome.

There have been a few posts recently regarding WPF. I have no personal knowledge regarding success within WPF. Perhaps @RaffyM or @ada have had some success?

Regards,
Jerry.

@jerryfaust

Hey! Thanks for taking the time to go through my post :slight_smile:

Hopefully someone has the answer, would really like to get this to work.

Hi @ZeroByter I got this working on WPF. I followed the instructions mentioned in this Microsoft documentation.

What happened was I had to create 2 projects. By the way, I used the 4.9.6.1 version of the control.

The first project was a Windows Forms Control Library (Net Framework). These were the steps I did.

1. After creating the project, I added a reference to MapWinGIS.
  2. I opened the toolbox, right clicked on Choose Items. Then from the COM components tab, I made sure that Map Control is checked.
  3. Somehow I could not locate the map control in the toolbox but it is there. I used search in the toolbox and typed in map control.
  4. I then dragged the map control to the user control surface.
  5. For layout property, I selected Dock -> Fill