The referenced component 'AxMapWinGIS' could not be found

Hello everyone.
I am new to MapWinGIS.
I have installed MapWinGIS v5.3 in order to use it on visual studio 2022 with C#.
Settings such as inclusion of “Map Control” in the COM components is done.

However, I keep receiving warning: “The referenced component ‘AxMapWinGIS’ could not be found.
In the Solution Explorer the ‘AxMapWinGIS’ is marked as missing.

I haved searched the whole internet and could not find the solution.
Please help to find the missing files/referneces.

Regards Adam

Hello @Adamski

Did you install the 32-bit or the 64-bit version of the OCX. I believe that there are issues with Visual Studio loading a 64-bit version of an Active-x control (at least up through VS2019, I don’t know about VS2022).

Regards,
Jerry.

Hi @jerryfaust, thank you for replying

I am running x64 based Win10 and x64 based VS2022 IDE.
I have installed “MapWinGIS-only-v5.3.0.0-x64-VS2017.exe” from the official site.
Integrated MapWinGis to the VS2022 IDE before use.

As a result VS2022 IDE does see “MapWinGIS.ocx” but doesn’t see “AxMapWinGIS.ocx”
I have tried manually searching for “AxMapWinGIS.ocx” file in the MapWinGIS installation directory (C:\dev\MapWinGIS), but did not Find.

I had also tried to manually search for “AxMapWinGIS.ocx” file on the internet however from my search result such file doesnt seem to exist at all.

Please see attached screenshot for better understanding

Hello @Adamski

The AxMapWinGis.ocx is the Interop COM wrapper that Visual Studio creates in order to use the OCX in the .NET environment. We’re getting a lot of issues recently related to VS2022. I will try to find the time to test the OCX in VS2022 and hopefully determine a solution.

Regards,
Jerry.

Hello, have you found any solution? Im facing with the same problem. Thanks.

1 Like

Hello all.

From Microsoft’s documentation Breaking API changes in Visual Studio 2022