MapWinGIS Manual for Vb, VBA

I’m a newbie in MapWinGIS and I have a global Question. Unfortunately I’m not a C ++ user. Is there a current manual VB or VBA for MapWinGIS?

I am currently having problems with establishing a connection to a PostgreSQL database. I’m using MS-Access as a frontend for Postgres and to display the factual data the solution works fine. Now I have implemented MapWinGIS in the Access frontend and would like to use it to access the GIS data from Postgres. I Wrote a short procedure in Access for loading the Data. This works very well with shape files, e.g .:

Private Sub LoadData()
    shpLayer.Open ("C:\GIS-SH\LANIS-SH\Natura2000\ffh_gebiete_5000_utm32\ffh_gebiete_5000_utm32.shp")
    LayerHandle = TestMap.AddLayer(shpLayer, True)
End Sub

To establish the connection to Postgres, it doesn’t, e.g .:

Private Sub LoadData()
    LayerHandle = TestMap.AddLayerFromDatabase("host='localhost' port='5432' dbname='DVL-GIS-DB-Test-local' user='postgres' password='postgres'", "SELECT * FROM gtb_flaeche", True)
End Sub

I would also be grateful for any tips for programming a cursor to identify polygon object data, especially to get the object ID for further processing in an Access database.

Hello @DetlevF, and welcome.

I believe that you need to prefix the connection string with “PG:”. We use GDAL to connect to non-Shapefile datasources, and you can check out their online help here regarding your connection string.

Let us know if that doesn’t resolve it.

Regards,
Jerry.

Hello @jerryfaust ,
many thanks for your quick reply. Now I changed the code like this:

Private Sub LoadData()
    str_pgConnString = "PG:host=localhost port=5432 dbname=DVL-GIS-DB-Test-local user=postgres password=postgres"
    qrySQL = "SELECT * FROM public.gtb_flaeche"
    LayerHandle = TestMap.AddLayerFromDatabase(pgConnString, qrySQL, True)
    MsgBox (LayerHandle)
End Sub

The MsgBox I put in for debug. It shows -1, so furthermore no layer is loaded.