Using MapWinGIS in a non-dialog MFC application (MDI)

Hello, this is my first post on this forum. I’m a junior developer in Visual C++ and MFC, which really means I just discovered those Microsoft-specific technologies 5 month ago. My new big task is to migrate a set of MFC aplications and DLL which are tighly coupled to ESRI MapObjects to use MapWinGIS. I’m using the latest stable version (5.2.4). To allow for greater reuse, I’m manipulating MapWinGIS through interfaces I created, which follows the “NVI” idiom.

I’m using MDI applications, so I need to create the ActiveX control dynamically in the main window, without dialogs. After a few researches and looking at the few exemples i could find (some on this forum), I found two ways of achieving this :

• With the “Add Class from ActiveX” wizard of Visual Studio 2015 (removed from VS2019, too bad), I created a class “wrapper” inherinting from CWnd to manipulate the control.
    Then, I import the ocx file (64bits) into the stdafx.h file :
    #import "MapWinGIS.ocx" rename("min", "MWGmin") rename("max", "MWGmax")
    For instanciating the other classes of MapWinGIS, I use the “CreateInstance” method of the MapWinGIS interfaces with the uuid of their implementation :
    MapWinGIS::IImagePtr mwg_image;
	mwg_image.CreateInstance(__uuidof(MapWinGIS::Image));
	mwg_image->GetBrightness();

However, some important properties I need from the AxMap class are missing (ex: NumLayers) and I don’t know why ?
Do I need to also call “CreateInstance” for the _DMapPtr interface ? In that case, how can I instanciate the control in the same way the “CreateControl” method from the “CMapWinGisWrapper” class does ?

// This is the class generated by the "Add Class from ActiveX" wizard
class CMapWinGisWrapper : public CWnd
{
protected:
	DECLARE_DYNCREATE(CMapWinGisWrapper)
public:
    BOOL Create(LPCTSTR lpszWindowName, DWORD dwStyle, const RECT& rect, CWnd* pParentWnd, 
				UINT nID, CFile* pPersist = NULL, BOOL bStorage = FALSE,